About Congo

There are two Congos - the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) and the Republic of Congo.  We have put together a reading list to help you understand more about the complex history of DRC.

Fast Facts about the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC), where HandUp Congo works.

  • Neighbours
    Nine countries border the Democratic Republic of Congo: Rwanda, Uganda, Tanzania, South Sudan, the Republic of Congo, Central African Republic, Angola, Zambia and Burundi.

  • Population  - Approximately 80 million inhabitants

  • Ethnic Groups - More than 200 ethnic groups

  • Major Languages - Lingala, Kikongo, Tshiluba, Swahili, French

  • Size/Area
    2,345,410 sq km; approximately the size of Western Australia or one fourth the size of the USA.

  • Income - US $210 per year for an individual Congolese

  • Key Natural Resources  
    Diamonds, Gold, Coltan, Uranium, Copper, Tin, Silver, Cobalt, Niobium, Timber, Hydro Power, Manganese, Petroleum

  • Life Expectancy - 55 years

  • Religions  
    Roman Catholic 50%, Protestant 20%, Kimbanguist 10%, Muslim 10%, Other 10%

  • Capitol - Kinshasa